A Tribute to Namir Noor Eldeen

I was looking through a sample of work by the photographer Namir Noor-Eldeen on the Reuters website, with no prior knowledge of the tragic events that occurred, to him and Saeed Chmagh.

As I looked through the pictures I had an overwhelming urge to contact Namir and praise him for the heart wrenching and brave work he was doing. With every picture my heart ached for the fact that these atrocities are being faced by too many people in too many places every single day. People.. like me.

As I got nearer the end of the album I saw a picture of Saeed. A wonderful picture. And then I read that he and Namir had been killed under ‘uncertain’ circumstances. A pain surged through me. And I am but a stranger. I could not escape the sadness that overwhelmed me. But at the same time the fear that he was no longer going to be able to take any more photos. The fear that he will no longer be able to show us the reality that is so hard to express and even harder to find.

More people need to see Namir’s pictures. These photos are the REALITY, not the nonsense we hear ‘our’ governments blithering on about. We must do something. If only but ensure more people see his pictures… the reality.

Here is some of Namir’s work.

For an Updated post go to Update: Namir Noor Eldeen, Collateral Murder and the Digitised ‘Other‘.

~ by Tamara Al-Om on August 6, 2007.

2 Responses to “A Tribute to Namir Noor Eldeen”

  1. […] Thoughts on the Middle East, Politics & the Media: A Tribute to Namir Noor Eldeen […]

  2. […] a cheer for their demise.As of yet, no official response has been provided.This is an update to a post published in August 2007 following these tragic events, on Thoughts of the Middle East, Politics […]

Leave a comment